Under the Radar Series: Michael Zsoldos + String Quartet

Ralph Burns', Billy Strayhorn's, and Johnny Richards' lush mid-50s string arrangements from Ben Webster's "Music for Loving" and "Music with Feeling" serve as the crown jewels for this project. Saxophonist, Michael Zsoldos studied these recordings and transcribed the string-writing note for note as a self-prescribed assignment to learn from the masters he wished to emulate. Norman Granz, the producer of the original recordings, recalled the session: "I knew Billy [Strayhorn] wanted to write for strings, and he could do it, unlike most straight jazz guys...Since he never got the chance to write for strings with Duke, he jumped at it."

To showcase these beautiful arrangements, Zsoldos has put together a quartet of New England's top string players along with an empathetic and swinging jazz rhythm section including the sublime pianist, Miro Sprague. This concert will also feature a premier of an original Zsoldos composition employing these techniques. If you enjoy the big breathy sound of Ben Webster's tenor saxophone over the tapestry of exquisitely arranged strings, this concert is for you.

Examples of Webster's Original Recordings



Michael with Saxart Ensemble:

Michael with Choro de Manha (Choro ensemble)

Michael with Samirah Evans

March 26th, 2016
8:00 PM
Vermont Jazz Center
Sliding Scale ticket fee: $20.00 - $40.00
Buy tickets on-line (secure server)

Please purchase tickets on-line to help avoid a massive line on the day of the show. There will be separate lines for "will call" and ticket sales. Please read our new TICKET PRICING POLICY.

Other ticket payment/reservation options:
In the Moment, 143 Main St, Brattleboro, VT
Call the Jazz Center at 802-254-9088 to reserve tickets.

Please note: A surcharge of $1/per ticket will be added to all tickets purchased with a credit card.
Order Tickets
01 Roy Haynes Quartet
Roy Haynes Quartet
02 Allison Miller
Allison Miller
03 Billy Bang
Billy Bang
04 Jamie Baum
Jamie Baum
05 Henry Grimes Trio
Henry Grimes Trio
06 Carl Grubbs
Carl Grubbs
07 Jimmy Heath
Jimmy Heath
Site Design © 2018 Vermont Technology Partners, Inc.